## 25.—Seventeenth Ministry of Ontario, as at Jan. 31, 1962

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 11, 1959: 71 Progressive Conservative, 22 Liberal and 5 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Council and Minister of Education. Attorney-General and Minister in Charge of the Department of Insurance. Minister of Highways. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Labour Treasurer. Minister of Travel and Publicity Minister of Travel and Publicity Minister of Health Minister of Health Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Provincial Secretary and Minister of Citizenship. Minister of Mercy Resources and Minister of Economics and Development. Minister of Mines. Minister of Agriculture. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Reform Institutions.	Hon, John P. Robarts.  Hon, A. Kelso Roberts. Hon, Charles Daley. Hon, William A. Goodfellow. Hon Louis P. Cecile. Hon. William K. Warrender. Hon. William K. Warrender. Hon. William M. Nickle. Hon. Bryan L. Cathcart. Hon. Bryan L. Cathcart. Hon. Matthew B. Dymond. Hon. J. Wilfrid Spooner. Hon. J. Frederick M. Cass.  Hon, John Yaremko.	Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1946 Sept. 17, 1948 Jan. 20, 1953 Jan. 5, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 18, 1957 July 18, 1957 Apr. 28, 1958 Apr. 28, 1958 May 26, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 1961	(Nov. 8, 1961 Dec. 17, 1959 Aug. 17, 1955 Nov. 8, 1961 Nov. 8, 1961 Aug. 17, 1955 Nov. 8, 1961 Apr. 28, 1958 Nov. 8, 1961 Aug. 17, 1955 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Nov. 8, 1961 May 26, 1960 (May 5, 1959 Jan. 15, 1962 Nov. 8, 1961 Nov. 1, 1960 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 8, 1961 Nov. 8, 1961 Nov. 8, 1961

## Subsection 7.-Manitoba

In addition to a Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council at present composed of 11 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a statutory term of five years. The Hon. Errick F. Willis, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 31, 1962, was sworn in on Jan. 15, 1960. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1870) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 113. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 114.

The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$10,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$2,667 and an expense allowance of \$1,333. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$3,500 and the Speaker of the Legislature receives an amount double the indemnity and expense allowance of an individual member.

## 26.—Legislatures of Manitoba, 1936-59, as at Jan. 31, 1962

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 80, and for 1924-36 in the 1938 edition, p. 115.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Fuly 27, 1936 Apr. 22, 1941 Oct. 15, 1945 Nov. 10, 1949 Fune 8, 1953 Fune 16, 1958 May 14, 1959	20th	5 5 4 7 5 2	Feb. 18, 1937 Dec. 9, 1941 Feb. 19, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 2, 1954 Oct. 23, 1958 June 9, 1959	Mar. 13, 1941 Sept. 8, 1945 Sept. 29, 1949 Apr. 23, 1953 Apr. 30, 1958 Mar. 31, 1959

<sup>1</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Jan. 31, 1962.